By Filipa

The Walkmen – In the New Year

The Walkmen are an indie rock band from New York City. The band formed in
2000 with three members from Jonathan Fire*Eater—Paul Maroon (guitar,
piano), Walter Martin (organ/bass), and Matt Barrick (drums)—and two from
The Recoys, Peter Bauer (bass/organ) and Hamilton Leithauser (vocals,
guitar). All but Bauer attended St. Albans in Washington, D.C.

They prefer the sound of vintage musical instruments, particularly the
upright piano, and have often recorded at Marcata Recording, a recording
studio built in Harlem in 1999 by the three former members of Jonathan
Fire*Eater and later relocated to upstate New York.


Next: Paulo


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s